Seminars and Workshops

Fall 2018

September

Date/Time Event Speaker Topic
Thursday, 6-September
Noon-1:20 pm
Practice Job Talk
SH-DH 116
Andrea Contigiani
Wharton, Univ. of Pennsylvania
Experimentation, Learning, and Appropriability in Early-Stage Ventures
Thursday, 13-September
Noon-1:20 pm
Practice Job Talk
SH-DH 116
Basima Tewfik
Wharton, Univ. of Pennsylvania
The Unexpected Benefits of Thinking You are Overestimated at Work: The Relationship Between Workplace Impostor Thoughts and Job Performance
Monday, 17-September
Noon-1:20 pm
Practice Job Talk
SH-DH 116
Tracy Anderson
Wharton, Univ. of Pennsylvania
What About Those Left Behind? Understanding The Impact Of Colleague Exit On The Careers Of Collaborative Workers
Thursday, 20-September
Noon-1:20 pm
Practice Job Talk
SH-DH 116
Sarath Balanchandran
Wharton, Univ. of Pennsylvania
Monday, 24-September
Noon-1:20 pm
Practice Job Talk
SH-DH 116
Julianna Pillemer
Wharton, Univ. of Pennsylvania
Thursday, 27-September
Noon-1:20 pm
Practice Job Talk
SH-DH 116
John Eklund
Wharton, Univ. of Pennsylvania

 

October

Date/Time Event Speaker Topic
Monday, 1-October
Noon-1:20 pm
Faculty Rapid Research Seminar
SH-DH 116
Various Faculty Various Topics
Monday, 8-October
Noon-1:20 pm
Practice Job Talk
SH-DH 116
Kate Odziemkowska
Wharton, Univ. of Pennsylvania
Frenemies: Partner Selection In Firm-Activist Collaborations
Thursday, 11-October
Noon-1:20 pm
WildCard
SH-DH 116
Cesar Hidalgo
MIT
The Principles of Collective Learning
Tuesday, 16-October
Noon-1:20 pm
HSC Job Talk
SH-DH 1020
Hatim Rahman
Stanford University
From Iron Cages to Invisible Cages: Algorithmic Evaluations in Online Labor Markets
Thursday, 18-October
Noon-1:20 pm
HSC Seminar
SH-DH 116
Amir Goldberg
Stanford University
Duality in Diversity: Cultural Heterogeneity, Language, and Firm Performance
Monday, 22-October
Noon-1:20 pm
MM Seminar
SH-DH 116
Valerie Karplus
MIT
Legitimacy, Managerial Capabilities, and Firm Productivity: Evidence from China
Tuesday, 23-October
4:30-5:50 pm
HSC Job Talk
SH-DH 116
Alexandra Feldberg
Harvard Business School
Butchers, Bakers, and Barcharts: How Digitized Information Affects Gender Differences in Performance
Wednesday, 31-October
Noon-1:20 pm
EOI Workshop
SH-DH 2034
John Paul MacDuffie
Univ. of Pennsylvania-Wharton
Preparing U.S. Workers and Employers for an Autonomous Vehicle Future

 

November

Date/Time Event Speaker Topic
Thursday, 1-November
Noon-1:20 pm
PhD Rapid Research Seminar
SH-DH 116
Various PhD Students
Monday, 12-November
Noon-1:20 pm
MM Job Talk
SH-DH 116
Laura Boudreau
UC Berkeley
Multinational enforcement of labor law: Experimental evidence from Bangladesh’s apparel
Tuesday, 13-November
4:00-5:20 pm
OB Job Talk
SH-DH TBA
Dana Harari
Georgia Tech
Play Hard, Workharder? How Hobbies Affect Employees’ Work and Life
Monday, 19-November
Noon-1:20 pm
HSC Job Talk
SH-DH TBA
Lindsey Cameron
University of Michigan
Making out While Driving: Control, Coordination, and its Consequences in Algorithmic Work
Thursday, 29-November
Noon-1:20 pm
WildCard
SH-DH 116
Woody Powell
Stanford University
From iron cage to glass house: Is transparency a new organizational standard?

 

December

Date/Time Event Speaker Topic
Monday, 3-December
Noon-1:20 pm
OB Job Talk
SH-DH 116
Natalie Longmire
University of Texas
Knowing you, knowing me: The interpersonal consequences of acquiring and sharing personal information at work
Tuesday, 4-December
Noon-1:20 pm
MM Job Talk
SH-DH 116
Britta Glennon
Carnegie Mellon
How Do Restrictions on High-Skilled Immigration Affect Offshoring? Evidence from the H-1B Program
Wednesday, 5-December
Noon-1:20 pm
MM Job Talk
SH-DH 116
Stefan Dimitriadis
Harvard Business School
Cooperative frames and the formation of business relationships: A field experiment with entrepreneurs in Togo
Thursday, 6-December
Noon-1:20 pm
ENT Job Talk
SH-DH 116
Jessica Santana
Stanford University
Monday, 10-December
Noon-1:20 pm
ENT Job Talk
SH-DH 116
Daniel Kim
MIT

 

Spring 2019

January

Date/Time Event Speaker Topic
Wednesday, 9-January
Noon-1:20 pm
ENT Job Talk
SH-DH TBA
Hyejun Kim
MIT
Thursday, 10-January
Noon-1:20 pm
ENT Job Talk
SH-DH TBA
Alicia Desantola
Harvard Business School

 

February

Date/Time Event Speaker Topic
Wednesday, 6-February
Noon-1:20 pm
EOI Workshop
SH-DH TBA
Daniel Geiger
Hamburg University
Thursday, 7-February
Noon-1:20 pm
MM Seminar
SH-DH 116
Mark Mortensen
INSEAD
Monday, 11-February
Noon-1:20 pm
SM Seminar
SH-DH 116
Henning Piezunka
INSEAD
Thursday, 14-February
Noon-1:20 pm
HSC Seminar
SH-DH 116
Alan Benson
University of Minnesota-Carlson
Wednesday, 20-February
Noon-1:20 pm
EOI Workshop
SH-DH TBA
Frederik Tell
Uppsala University
Thursday, 21-February
Noon-1:20 pm
MM Seminar
SH-DH 116
Bill Kerr
Harvard Business School
Monday, 25-February
Noon-1:20 pm
HSC Seminar
SH-DH 116
Danielle Li
MIT
Thursday, 28-February
Noon-1:20 pm
ENT Seminar
SH-DH 116
Scott Stern
MIT

 

March

Date/Time Event Speaker Topic
Monday, 11-March
Noon-1:20 pm
SM Seminar
SH-DH 116
Phanish Puranam
INSEAD
Monday, 18-March
Noon-1:20 pm
MM Seminar
SH-DH 116
Mary O’Sullivan
University of Geneva
Wednesday, 20-March
Noon-1:20 pm
EOI Workshop
SH-DH TBA
Andrew Nelson
University of Oregon
Thursday, 21-March
Noon-1:20 pm
HSC Seminar
SH-DH 116
Anthony Nyberg
University of South Carolina
Monday, 25-March
Noon-1:20 pm
ENT Seminar
SH-DH 116
Johanna Mair
Stanford University
Thursday, 28-March
Noon-1:20 pm
OB Seminar
SH-DH TBA
Charles O’Reilly
Stanford University

 

April

Date/Time Event Speaker Topic
Thursday, 4-April
Noon-1:20 pm
SM Seminar
SH-DH 116
Sendhil Ethiraj
London Business School
Monday, 8-April
Noon-1:20 pm
OB Seminar
SH-DH 116
Kathy Phillips
Columbia University
Thursday, 11-April
Noon-1:20 pm
ENT Seminar
SH-DH 116
Ramana Nanda
Harvard Business School
Monday, 15-April
Noon-1:20 pm
OB Seminar
SH-DH 116
Lakshmi Ramarajan
Harvard Business School
Thursday, 18-April
Noon-1:20 pm
SM Seminar
SH-DH 116
Connie Helfat
Dartmouth
Wednesday, 24-April
Noon-1:20 pm
EOI Workshop
SH-DH TBA
Mark Zbaracki
University of Western Ohio
Thursday, 25-April
Noon-1:20 pm
MM/SM Seminar
SH-DH 116
Bill Barnett
Stanford University
Monday, 29-April
Noon-1:20 pm
ENT Seminar
SH-DH 116
Aaron (Ronnie) Chatterji
Duke University

 

May

Date/Time Event Speaker Topic
Thursday, 2-May
Noon-1:20 pm
ENT Seminar
SH-DH 116
Toby Stuart
UC Berkeley
Thursday, 9-May
Noon-1:20 pm
SM Seminar
SH-DH 116
Samina Karim
Northeastern University