Seminars and Workshops

Spring 2021

     Please Note: All Spring events are done via ZOOM

January

Date/Time Event Speaker Topic
Thursday, January 21
Noon – 1:20 pm
HSC Seminar
Zoom – Virtual Platform
Nathan Wilmers
MIT
“Consolidated Advantage: New Organizational Dynamics of Wage Inequality”   
Monday, January 25
4:30 pm – 5:50 pm
OB Seminar
Zoom – Virtual Platform
Joel Brockner
Columbia University
Wise Interventions in Organizations
Thursday, January 28
Noon – 1:30 pm
WildCard Seminar
Zoom – Virtual Platform
Nick Bloom
Stanford University
Why Working From Home Will Stick

 

February

Date/Time Event Speaker Topic
Monday, February 1
Noon – 1:20 pm
ENT Seminar Susan Cohen
University of Georgia
Learning from Narratives: How Developing “The Pitch” Shapes Strategy in New Ventures
Thursday, February 4
Noon – 1:30 pm
WCH Seminar Basima Tewfik
MIT
The Impostor Phenomenon Revisited:
Presenting A Selfaffirmation Theory of Workplace Impostor Thoughts
Tuesday, February 9
Noon – 1:30 pm
Race & Racism in Business Seminar Valerie Purdie Greenaway
Columbia University
The psychology of inclusion: Identifying and reducing threat improves persistence, belonging
and meaningful dialogues about race
Thursday, February 11
Noon – 1:30 pm
WHC Seminar
Zoom – Virtual Platform
Shefali Patil
University of Texas-Austin
Professional Experiences, Street Smarts, and Determining Whether to Continue or Call it
Quits When the Going Gets Tough
Monday, February 15
Noon – 1:30 pm
WCH Seminar Aseem Kaul
University of Minnesota
Desert Places: Cooperatives as Infrastructure Providers in Marginalized Areas
Thursday, February 18
Noon – 1:30 pm
MM Seminar Ben Graham
USC
Social Ties and the Political Participation of Firms
Monday, February 22
Noon – 1:30 pm
WCH Seminar
Zoom – Virtual Platform
Justin Berg
Stanford University
One-Hit-Wonders vs. Hit-Makers: Sustaining Success in Creative Industries

 

March

Date/Time Event Speaker Topic
Monday, March 1
Noon – 1:30 pm
WildCard Seminar
Zoom – Virtual Platform
Fabrizio Ferraro
IESE
Under Pressure: Culture and Structure as Antecedents of Organizational Misconduct
Thursday, March 4
Noon – 1:30 pm
SM Seminar David Teece
UC Berkeley
Evolutionary Economics, Routines, and Dynamic Capabilities
Monday, March 8
Noon – 1:30 pm
WCH Seminar Hart Posen
University of Wisconsin
Uncertainty in Learning Curves: Implications for First Mover Advantage
Thursday, March 11
Noon – 1:30 pm
HSC Seminar
Zoom – Virtual Platform
Sanaz Mobasseri
Boston University
Asymmetric Peer Effects: How Co-Workers Shape Black Turnover
Tuesday, March 16
Noon – 1:30 pm
Race & Racism in Business Seminar
Zoom – Virtual Platform
Ashleigh Rosette
Duke University
Genuine Solidarity or Performative Pretense:
The Role of Instrumentality and Authenticity in Shaping Perceptions of Allyship
Thursday, March 18
Noon – 1:30 pm
Current Events Seminar
Zoom – Virtual Platform
Lori Nishiura Mackenzie
Stanford University
Are Small Wins enough during a crisis?
Monday, March 22
Noon – 1:30 pm
SM Seminar Felipe Csaszar
University of Michigan
“From Micro to Macro: How Organizations Aggregate Individuals’ Utility Functions”
Thursday, March 25
Noon – 1:20 pm
WCH Seminar Lakshmi Ramajaran
Harvard
No title provided
Tuesday, March 30
Noon – 1:30 pm
Race & Racism in Business Seminar Lisa Cook
MSU
Race, Racism, and the Future of Innovation and Growth

 

April

Date/Time Event Speaker Topic
Monday, April 12
Noon-1:30 pm
ENT Seminar Lauren Lanahan
University of Oregon
The Spillovers from R&D Grants to Small
Businesses Reach Far Across Geographic and Technological
Space
Thursday, April 15
Noon-1:30 pm
HSC Seminar
Zoom – Virtual Platform
Roman Galperin
McGill University
“External stakeholders and career attainment:
Gender differences in tasks and promotion time of patent examiners”
Monday, April 19
Noon-1:30 pm
WildCard Seminar Yael Hochberg
Rice University
“Rugged Entrepreneurs: The Geographic and
Cultural Contours of New Business Formation”
Thursday, April 22
Noon-1:30 pm
SM Seminar
Zoom – Virtual Platform
Gautam Ahuja
Cornell University
You Get What You Pay For: The Rise of the
Index Fund and Exploration in R&D
Monday, April 26
Noon-1:30 pm
OB Seminar
Zoom – Virtual Platform
Andras Tilcsik
University of Toronto
The Experimenter’s Dilemma: Online Studies
and Organizational Processes
Thursday, April 29
Noon-1:30 pm
WildCard Seminar
Zoom – Virtual Platform
Chris Rider
University of Michigan
From laborer to founder: Entrepreneurs’
fundamental transitions at the nexus of
individual and opportunity

 

May

Date/Time Event Speaker Topic
Monday, May 10
Noon – 1:30 pm
WCH Seminar
Zoom – Virtual Platform
Gina Dokko
UC Davis
You can’t go home again: Performance assistance from and toward boomerang employees